Tuesday, January 15, 2013
Irony vs. Rosie
Okay, so the day I wrote all about how wonderful everything was, and how amazing I felt....I went to sleep with the beginnings of a head cold. Again. Grant gave it to me, I think. He's definitely into the unusual gift-giving this year. I didn't go to taiko on Thursday. I was very non-specific when I made my excuses, because I didn't want to admit to everyone that I was sick again.
Friday, I was Josh's designated driver for a work party. It was actually a retirement party, and super fun. Well, except that I was sick. Josh's work buddies are so nice! And the rumor is that the new exec is there to split them all up. He has already (last night) recommended that they terminate the manager, who is pregnant with twins. Ain't he a sweetie? So, Josh is nervous as a cat. And that's not including that he's started his last semester of school.
I still don't have a real job. There hasn't been any work last week or this week, so far. I really need something. Help! Does anywhere nearby even have a 5:30 - 2 shift?
Sunday, I went to the taiko PR meeting. I think we got a lot done, and I came away with several things to do on Monday. Monday, Grant stayed home from school and I took him to the doctor for an ear infection, and then to get meds and then to pick up Abbie and then to music lessons and then to Culvers to meet Josh so we could then go to Sams Club. I was gone most of the day, so I am extra, super proud of myself that I got most of the PR stuff done, and even squeezed in a load of laundry. I got dishes put away when I came home, but there are more to do already. I was BUSY! I decided to take today off to heal and stuff, but it's not happening.
Also, I have new books! WOOT! I went ahead an bought the Sarah Addison Allen book, and have already finished it. I like it. And I've moved on to Jasper Fforde's Shades of Gray. Already, two people have asked me about it, assuming it was 50 Shades of Gray. (Sorry, folks.) It's complicated and fascinating and hard to figure out. Good for the brain.
I already gave Josh one of his birthday presents. It's a lovely, thin, black sweater. I noticed that he was wearing sweaters again this year, so I got him a nice one. He's wearing it today. I hope he likes it...
Taiko tonight, and I hope I'm ready. In the meantime, I'm going to start on the Newsletter. This months is particularly fun.
We've had a lovely ice storm. Miraculously, it didn't affect the roads at all, but left everything looking as if it were coated with glass. In the sunshine, even the grass is absolutely blinding. It was very windy while everything froze, so we also have icicles on everything at a jaunty 30 degree angle.
I'm going to spend the night at my Mom's on Friday. The kids don't have school, so we're leaving in the late morning. Dad can read them the next installment of The Hobbit. I'm looking forward to it.
You should look at this. It's super cool: http://www.amandamathenia.com
So glad we bought a dozen boxes of kleenex last night....
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment